Latest Visits

The Dolomites - Dolomiten

Toblach, Italy

Drei Zinnen, also known as Tre Cime di Lavaredo in Italian, is a stunning mountain range located in Toblach, a picturesque town in the northern Italian region of South Tyrol. These three distinctive peaks, soaring high into the sky at an impressive height of over 9,800 feet, are a sight to behold and a must-visit for any nature lover or outdoor enthusiast.

The name Drei Zinnen, which translates to "Three Peaks," perfectly describes the unique geological formation of this mountain range. The three peaks, named Cima Grande, Cima Ovest, and Cima Piccola, stand side by side, creating a dramatic and awe-inspiring landscape that has been a source of inspiration for countless artists and photographers.

Surrounded by lush green meadows, crystal-clear alpine lakes, and dense forests, the Drei Zinnen offer a variety of activities for visitors to enjoy. Hiking is the most popular way to explore the area, with a network of well-maintained trails catering to all levels of experience. Whether you're a seasoned hiker or a beginner, there's a route for you to discover the beauty of these majestic peaks.

For those seeking a more challenging adventure, climbing the Drei Zinnen is a thrilling option. The Cima Grande offers a variety of routes for experienced climbers, including the iconic Comici-Dimai route, which was first conquered in 1933 and is considered one of the most difficult rock climbs in the Dolomites.

In addition to its natural beauty and outdoor activities, Drei Zinnen also has a rich history and cultural significance. The area was a battleground during World War I, and remnants of the war can still be seen today, adding a unique historical dimension to the landscape.

To fully experience Drei Zinnen, a visit to the Rifugio Auronzo is a must. This mountain hut, situated at the foot of the peaks, offers breathtaking views and serves as a starting point for many hiking and climbing routes.

In conclusion, Drei Zinnen in Toblach is a must-visit destination for anyone looking to immerse themselves in the stunning beauty of the Italian Alps. With its unique geological formation, endless outdoor activities, and rich history, it truly is a place unlike any other.

The site of the Dolomites comprises a mountain range in the northern Italian Alps, numbering 18 peaks which rise to above 3,000 metres and cover 141,903 ha. It features some of the most beautiful mountain landscapes anywhere, with vertical walls, sheer cliffs and a high density of narrow, deep and long valleys. A serial property of nine areas that present a diversity of spectacular landscapes of international significance for geomorphology marked by steeples, pinnacles and rock walls, the site also contains glacial landforms and karst systems. It is characterized by dynamic processes with frequent landslides, floods and avalanches. The property also features one of the best examples of the preservation of Mesozoic carbonate platform systems, with fossil records.

The Tre Cime di Lavaredo (Italian for 'Three Peaks of Lavaredo'; pronounced [ˌtre tˈtʃiːme di lavaˈreːdo]), also called the Drei Zinnen (German for 'Three Merlons'); pronounced [ˌdʁaɪ ˈtsɪnən] ), are three distinctive battlement-like peaks, in the Sexten Dolomites of northeastern Italy. They are one of the best-known mountain groups in the Alps. The three peaks, from east to west, are:

Cima Piccola / Kleine Zinne ("little peak")

Cima Grande / Große Zinne ("big peak")

Cima Ovest / Westliche Zinne ("western peak").

The peaks are composed of well-layered dolomites of the Dolomia Principale (Hauptdolomit) formation, Carnian to Rhaetian in age, as are many other groups in the Dolomites (e.g., the Tofane, the Pelmo or the Cinque Torri).

Until 1919 the peaks formed part of the border between Italy and Austria-Hungary. Now they lie on the border between the Italian provinces of South Tyrol and Belluno and still are a part of the linguistic boundary between German-speaking and Italian-speaking majorities. The Cima Grande has an elevation of 2,999 metres (9,839 ft). It stands between the Cima Piccola, at 2,857 metres (9,373 ft), and the Cima Ovest, at 2,973 metres (9,754 ft).

The Dolomites (Italian: Dolomiti [doloˈmiːti]), also known as the Dolomite Mountains, Dolomite Alps or Dolomitic Alps, are a mountain range in northeastern Italy. They form part of the Southern Limestone Alps and extend from the River Adige in the west to the Piave Valley (Pieve di Cadore) in the east. The northern and southern borders are defined by the Puster Valley and the Sugana Valley (Italian: Valsugana). The Dolomites are in the regions of Veneto, Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol and Friuli-Venezia Giulia, covering an area shared between the provinces of Belluno, Vicenza, Verona, Trentino, South Tyrol, Udine and Pordenone.

Other mountain groups of similar geological structure are spread along the River Piave to the east—Dolomiti d'Oltrepiave; and far away over the Adige River to the west—Dolomiti di Brenta (Western Dolomites). A smaller group is called Piccole Dolomiti (Little Dolomites), between the provinces of Trentino, Verona and Vicenza.

The Dolomiti Bellunesi National Park and many other regional parks are in the Dolomites. On 26 June 2009, the Dolomites were declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The Adamello-Brenta UNESCO Global Geopark is also in the Dolomites.